Church Music / Organ Division

For more than 50 years, the JGU School of Music has been engaged in training full-time church musicians. From 1961 to 1967, Dr. Rudolf Walter was the head of the Catholic Church Music division. From 1970, Peter Alexander Stadtmüller was responsible for JGU church music students for many years. In 1997, Gerhard Gnann was appointed organ professor. Since then, he has led up this Church Music / Organ division of the JGU School of Music together with his colleague, Professor Hans-Jürgen Kaiser.

The study and examination regulations have been changed in the last few years. In particular, the program has been opened to students of the evangelical denomination.  


At the moment, we offer the following courses: ·         

  • Diploma course (Diplom-B, Protestant or Catholic), 8 semesters
  • post-graduate course (Diploma -A, identical for both faiths), 4 semesters
  • B.Mus. Church music
  • M.Mus. Church music
  • M.Mus. Organ playing from sheet music
  • M.Mus. Organ improvisation
  • post-graduate course concert exam (organ playing with sheet music or improvisation)  


Students have the option of majoring in:

  • Children's Choir Director (in cooperation with the Mainz Cathedral Choir)
  • Gregorianics / Semiotics
  • Voice
  • Jazz and pop music / New Spiritual Song
  • Harpsichord
  • and others.  


Given the unique situation in Germany that the School of Music is integrated into Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz , students can also major in subjects from other disciplines within the university:          

  • Art History
  • Musicology
  • Protestant / Catholic Theology.        


Church Music / Organ Division Directors
Professor Gerhard Gnann
Professor Hans-Jürgen Kaiser

Other Professors
Prof. Daniel Beckmann
Professor Alfred Müller-Kranich
Prof. Mathias Breitschaft

Scientific and artistic assistant
Anna Pikulska

Lutz Brenner
Kilian Gottwald
Andreas Großmann
Christine Pfeifer-Huberich
Wolfgang Portugall
Thomas Drescher
Dr. Bernhard Einig
Volker Ellenberger

Choir Directors
Professor Ralf Otto
Susanne Rohn
Peter Scholl